Life, the Universe, MS & Me


The MS Trust Secret Art Show
October 3, 2011, 1:32 pm
Filed under: life, MS

Secret Art Show

I have been asked by the MS Trust to write something about the Secret Art Show. The last ones I believe were quite successful.

I feel the best way to start is to say a little about the MS Trust. It is a cause that I particularly like. They are a charity that is involved with education and research. I don’t think that anyone with MS in the UK has not at sometime been aquatinted with one of their publications.

When I was diagnosed in 2008 and I first saw my MS nurse it was publications of theirs that she gave me. At a time when everything seems up in the air such things are great boons.

The MS Trust remains to me as one of my primary sources of information. Its balanced views of new medications and treatments are the best to turn to when a new “miracle cure” is announced in the papers. Open Door, their quarterly publication, with important news on campaigns issues and treatments, is very good, along with the personal stories that show us that others are in the same position is an invaluable resource.

The publications of the trust are not just important to the MSer (could we please not say sufferer, I refuse to let it make me suffer). When I had problems at work they helped me to make my manager understand what I was trying to say. It was enormously helpful because to some extent they expected me to be an instant expert on the subject. I am though, like everyone, learning as I go along.

And all this, before we get on to the helpline and the wonderful website, which is always up-to-date with new developments.

As you can tell I cannot sing their praises highly enough. They even find answers to your queries via twitter if they possibly can, as they did for a pharmacist follower of mine just lately who needed information for a patient,

As stated above, I consider the work the MS Trust do as highly important and valuable, to MSers and all those connected to them, as well as wider society.

So, money needs to be raised. The trust always thing of fun ways of raising money and I think this is a fab idea; The Secret Art Show.

All pieces of art the same size and all the same price, except that some are by famous artists or celebrities and so are probably worth more than you pay, others are by non-famous artists and so are valuable in their aesthetic merit. So buy something you like the look of, that you want on your wall. You never know, it might be by someone famous, or possibly by someone who is yet to be.

helen x

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

